Staff and Leadership

The Synagogue of the Hills lay leadership provide strategic guidance for the congregation and Black Hills Jewish community. Members interested in joining the board or a committee can contact the synagogue at

Board of Directors 

President – Steven Benn

Vice President – David Johnston

Secretary – Gregg Peterman

Treasurer – Stanford Adelstein

At-Large –  Michele Beard

Committee Chairs

Investment and Finance – Georgette Ohayan

Social Action – Ann Stanton

Building and Long Range Planning – Dan Ames

Policy Manuals and By-Laws – Rebecca Kline

Hospitality –  Barb Ames

Garden –  Mary Ingram

Student Rabbi

Aaron Torop

Professional Staff

Leonard Running (email:


Board Governance Statement

The diversity of our Members’ traditions and backgrounds is the greatest asset of the Synagogue of the Hills. Inclusion of all Jews in our growing Community in our activities affords us with our greatest opportunity to excel as an organization. We will meet our Community’s needs if we, as a Board, collectively and individually conduct ourselves in a manner which: (1) acts to address the needs of our Community before our own positions; (2) recognizes that change is inevitable for the continued survival of our Con­gregation and our religion; (3) treats each other with the utmost respect and values each Board/Synagogue Member’s contributions; and (4) recog­nizes the need for “One Voice” of the Board through the Board’s decision-making process.

(Ken Friednash 10/02/00)